FaceBook’s New TimeLine: Set Your Privacy

If you care to keep your past in the past, Facebook’s new version of the profile, called Timeline, makes that a little more difficult. FaceBook’s new timeline has the potential to expose status updates and wall posts from years ago. Just when I thought that FaceBook couldn’t get any more creepier, they come out with this. I think Mark Zuckerberg has an unhealthy obsession with knowing what people do or what they’ve done in the past because so far no one is excited about this new update, especially when it comes to exposing their privacy.

If you want to switch to the new profile, go to Facebook’s Introducing Timeline page and click “Get It Now.” Otherwise, you can wait until you see an announcement with instructions at the top of your profile. With Timeline, every status update, wall post and photo ever posted since the day you joined Facebook becomes easily searchable to you and your friends. For many—early adopters especially—dredging up the past for all to see could be a privacy nightmare.

Here’s a look at what your options are for adjusting your settings, based on the level of privacy you want to achieve.

1. How to make all posts friends-only.

It’s possible that your past posts have varied privacy settings based on when they were posted. One way—the easiest of them all—is to use one of the blanket privacy settings introduced not long ago: “Limit the Audience for past Posts.”

You’ll find this option near the bottom of your Privacy Settings page. If you decide to use this option, the content on your Timeline that you’ve shared with more than your friends—such as public posts—will automatically change to Friends only. With this setting, though, people who are tagged and their friends will still be able to see the post.

2. Limit the posts by others on your timeline.

Another way to hide past posts is to limit specific people or lists of people from viewing what others have posted to your wall. To do this, go to your Privacy Settings page, then select “Edit Settings” next to “How You Connect.” Select the drop-down menu next to the last item—”Who can see posts by others on your timeline?” and choose “Custom.”

In the box under “Hide this from,” type the names of the people or the lists that you want to exclude from viewing posts from others on your wall, for example those on your Limited Profile list. Then click Save Changes.

3. Edit every post manually.

I wouldn’t recommend this option to anyone—especially those who have been Facebook users for several years—because of how time-consuming it could be.

Your Timeline lets you search by the year, which breaks down into months. Hover over a story in the Timeline to hide a particular one—this means that no one will be able to see it.

While this is a tedious process, it does appear it’s the only way to ensure you’re hiding exactly what you want from the people you want.

And there’s always the “View Profile As” feature, which shows you what others see when they look at your profile.

To find this feature after you’ve migrated to the new Timeline, click the gear icon on the right, below your cover photo, then click “View As…” from the drop-down menu. To preview how your profile appears to the public, click the link in the text, or type a person’s name into the field and click enter.

 

Just like any FaceBook update, it takes time to get used to it so give it some time, maybe a few years or so lol, and you’ll get used to it. Now go and make FaceBook history that’ll remain on the internet until the end of eternity.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s