It’s hard to find someone that doesn’t have a cell phone these days. They have become part of our everyday lives whether for work or personal use. But we must be safe when using our cell phones. We need to be aware of the laws and abide by them.
Connecticut prohibits the use of cell phones while operating a motor vehicle on a public highway. Effective Oct. 1, 2013 Connecticut also prohibits the use of cell phones while operating a commercial motor vehicle on a public highway. Hands-free cell phones are permitted, except by individuals holding a learners permit and drivers under the age of 18.
School bus drivers are prohibited from using a cell phone, including those with hands-free accessories or mobile electronic devices, while driving a school bus except in an emergency. School bus drivers in violation face the same fines as all other operators.
Connecticut also prohibits the use of cell phones or mobile electronic devised use to transmit text messages or electronic data while operating a motor vehicle. As of Oct. 1, 2013 this will also apply to operators of a commercial vehicle.
What are the penalties?
Violators charged for using a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle can face a fine of up to $100 for the first violation, $150 for a second violation and $200 for a third or subsequent violation. As of Oct. 1, 2013, these fines will increase. The new fines will be as follows: $150 for first violation, $300 for second violation and $500 for a third violation. These will also appear on your motor vehicle record.
Are you willing to pay theses fines just to use your cell phone? It can wait till you’ve reached your destination to make that call or return that text. We want you to be safe and aware while driving.
Protecting YOU is our Job