National Distracted Driving Awareness Month

connecticut cell phone lawsApril is National Distracted Driving Awareness month.  Texting isn’t the only distraction when driving that can cause an accident. Other distractions include changing the radio station, answering that phone call and grabbing your coffee.  Distracted driving occurs any time you take your eyes off the road, your hands off the wheel and your mind of the task of driving.

Who are the serious offenders? The youngest and most inexperienced drivers are the most at risk.  16% of all distracted driving crashes involved drivers under the age of 20 according to

Here are the laws in Connecticut regarding cell phone use while driving:

  1. Handheld ban for all drivers
  2. Ban on all cell phone use for bus drivers
  3. Ban on all cell phone use for novice drivers
  4. Ban on texting for all drivers

Fines for cell phone use in Connecticut as of October 2013

  1. First offense $150
  2. Second offense $300
  3. Each subsequent offense $500

Do you know how far your car can travel in the time to takes to send a text?  This video below from Travelers explains the dangers.

Talk with your teen drivers and explain to them the importance of not texting and driving. Set a good example by not using your cell phone while driving as well. If you need to respond to a call or text, pull over first, or what until you stop at your destination.  No call or text is worth it.  We want you to make it to your destination safely.


Penny Hanley & Howley Insurance

Protecting YOU is our Job



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s